The Dog Days of Unemployment

27 01 2010

I know what you’re probably thinking. That this is gonna be a “woe is me” post that will bum you out.  I’m here to tell you it’ll be nothing of the sort!

A comedian once said that comedy comes from a dark (painful) place. I couldn’t agree more because in my circumstances I find oodles and oodles of humor.

For instance, last night I went by my sister’s house just to chill out, and laugh at how crazy my nieces and nephew make her. As I was leaving, she said “You know my theory about men in sweat pants, right?”

I said “No, what?”

She said “They’re unemployed.”

I laughed for a good bit of the trip back home.

My outfit:

black t shirt

green zip up hoodie

black sweat pants

You know what I have on today? Those same black sweat pants, a gray t shirt, that same green zip up hoodie, and a red baseball cap.  (Of course I’m clean!)  But, sh*t, I feel jogging pants are a gift from God, because you really can’t get much more comfortable than that. I can feel my balls do a happy dance every time you put them on. I don’t know what the equivalent would be for you ladies.

So how else am I fitting the stereotype you may ask? Well, for starters, I don’t get out the bed until 12 on most days.  Hold up! Before you shake your head in disgust, know that I wake up at 9, and i pull my laptop on my lap to feverishly job hunt just as I did the day before and the day before that.  I hear how some people take pride in setting their alarm clock and getting up in the morning just as they would when they had a job to go to.  Someone has to run down the value in this odd behavior, cause I just don’t see the point.  I think it sounds like some type of mental defect. I will say, however, that it feels good to come to the public library (in my jogging pants) get on my laptop, fire off emails, apply for jobs, and just generally be productive.  There’s even a project I’ve been making headway on that me and my boy have been cooking up for a while that we’re about to release to the public. Oh it’ll be big, so stay tuned.

I also have grown my beard out and I’m trying to get it big like Teddy Pendergrass (R.I.P.), hoping that I won’t look like a vagabond or have the nasty Rick Ross look going. Until tomorrow. Corduroy…..out….

You can throw your panties at the screen too 🙂

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 01 2010
A

Ewwwwww……Dude, kill.the.beard!!! Eww, eww, eww. The shadowy thing? Niiiice. The full out Teddy? Not so nice. 😦

Rest assured, sweats are just as comfortable for the ladies. I have a favorite pair with holes in them now that I just refuse to let because of their comfort. I just have to wear them around the house.

Although I’ve never thought of it, I think your sister is right.

28 01 2010
dragonflysoul

even if we did throw our panties at the screen, you’d never know it.

28 01 2010
upsideyahead

Nah, but I have my imagination 🙂

28 01 2010
IceBerg J

Classic post…there is nothing in the World like having “free balls”…I am some sweat pants on right now and I do have a 9-5!

Leave a Reply

